Your Story, Defined

February 22, 2011 § 1 Comment


There are quite a few people who I follow and read. One of them is Chris Guillebeau, creator of The Art of Non-Conformity: Unconventional Strategies for Life, Work and Travel.

Guillebeau has done a great job of carving out & communicating his story. When I think of him, I immediately think of free-thinker and spirit. And, as far as I can tell, that’s how he lives and it is who he is. Reading his blog and his great document on world domination (that is less than 30 pages long), constantly challenge me on how I can bring more of what I want from life into my regular habits and actions.

Two questions that I gathered from Guillebeau’s document on world domination were:

What do I really want?

What can I really offer?

Whether or not he realizes it, these two questions that he presents are essential for anyone trying to convey her/his story. You have to know the purpose of your story (what you really want) and how you can help someone else (why anyone should pay attention to your story) before you can even go another step. I know that I want to be a platform/catalyst for others in the pursuit of their goals and dreams. And I believe that I can help through conversations/connections with people, rooted in my understanding of the digital marketing space. That’s my story…or at least the very seedlings of it.

Reflecting on the two questions above, how do you begin defining your story?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Your Story, Defined

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Your Story, Defined at Lulu Writes....

meta

