Irreverence

February 17, 2011 § Leave a comment


Irreverence.

Sounds like such a calm and sweet word, right? A word that you would take home and speak in front of your sweet Grandmother, right?

But it does not mean any of that – it actually embodies disrespect. And I absolutely love it.

I have battled writer’s block for the past few days and it was because I felt pressure to write on certain topics because that is the “way” to say something of importance to people, right? But I start to freak out when I feel boxed in – I hate the feeling, I really do.

And I have realized why I love this delicious word – irreverence. It reminds of me of myself. I am sweet, responsible & driven most of the time…and then outta nowhere, I drop an f-bomb and wild out because it suits my mood. For no damn reason at all. And as I get older, I care less and less how I will be perceived. There was a time in my life when I was terrified to be viewed as irreverent — but now? I wholly embrace it. It reminds me that I am human, of the fighter spirit I have and that there is no one else exactly like me.

Irreverence. So damn delicious…

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Irreverence at Lulu Writes....

meta

