I love The Notebook.

November 21, 2008 § 3 Comments


I love everything about “The Notebook”.

I just finished sobbing over the movie….maybe I will buy the book (by Nicholas Sparks) so I can sob some more.

I absolutely adore the characters, Noah and Allie.

I love the beauty of the locations throughout the film.

And the music…oh the music. It brings me to tears and smiles everytime, so much so that I have the music on my iPod.

But most importantly, I love the love that permeates and beats throughout the entire move.

I love The Notebook.

To know that there is such a love out there…not at all easy or boring but hard-fought and won….the kind of love that pushes you forward and takes you to lengths, heights, and depths you never ever could have imagined in your life. To know that love….is to have truly lived. Therein lies life itself…loving past yourself, past your fears, past your doubts, past your disagreements until you get to that space where nothing else matters but the connection you have with that other person. That is love.

And this movie makes me sob everytime because I know that that love exists and it is so beautiful and pure in its existence that it is an unstoppable force. Love truly does conquer all — don’t let anyone tell you any differently. Love truly does conquer all….even in a world full of desperation and cynicism. This is the time, more than ever, when love is extremely important. Now more than ever.

Hmmm….imagine such a love, so real and palpable that you feel through every fiber of your being. That you are unable to put it into words because it is past linguistic expression, it is past physical expression, it just is…it is bigger than you, bigger than anything you can imagine — it just is…love.

That is truly something worth living for.  🙂

I love The Notebook.

Of course I have quotes, lol:

Noah (to Allie): “If you’re a bird, I’m a bird.”

Excerpt from a letter from Noah to Allie: “The best love is the kind that awakens the soul and makes us reach for more, that plants a fire in our hearts and brings peace to our minds. And that’s what you’ve given me. That’s what I’d hoped to give you forever.”

So it’s not gonna be easy. It’s gonna be really hard. We’re gonna have to work at this every day, but I want to do that because I want you. I want all of you, for ever, you and me, every day. Will you do something for me, please? Just picture your life for me? 30 years from now, 40 years from now? What’s it look like? If it’s with him, go. Go! I lost you once, I think I can do it again. If I thought that’s what you really wanted. But don’t you take the easy way out.”


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to I love The Notebook.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I love The Notebook. at Lulu Writes....

meta

